Is it really just another holiday?
I will not bother to ask you what does Merdeka mean to you, but I will ask whether it is just another holiday. And if it is, then it doesn't mean anything if we celebrate our independence.
If we want to celebrate our independence then it should show how independence has changed the country. Then we can celebrate. For example, if there are more job opportunities and people are living with a decent wage - celebrate; if the crime rate is low and cops are clean - celebrate; if education is free or not expensive - celebrate; and if our politicians are fighting for the people, propagating the message of love, unity and abolishing racism - then we should celebrate.
If all of that come true, then it means so much more to celebrate our independence rather than throwing a parade. Because it is all fake. What happens after the celebration? Nothing changes. Cops are still dirty. Politicians are still geared with their hidden agendas. Crime is still going high. The dumb, stupid and ignorant will still roam as the leaders of this fine nation.
So what do I do on Merdeka day? I sleep.
I sleep not because that I'm a pessimist. No, I sleep because I want to dream a different Malaysia that is celebrating Merdeka. And in my dream, Malaysia is a fine city with minimal problems. Every one is happy and every one is proud to be a Malaysian. Much prouder than the current reality. But does this mean that I'm scared to face the reality?
No. I'm not. Like I said I'm not a pessimist. I'm a realist.
I rather be real about the way things are in Malaysia. There is a glimmer of hope. But I highly doubt that I'll be the one to make a change. No, this begins with you. It is the individual. It is your job to convince me or make changes so I don't have to sleep and dream about a better Malaysia. Yeah, call me naive and spoiled, but that's just me.
I'm not a pessimist. Just a realist.
While others may see this post a bit bitter and melancholic, I see it the other way around. If you are compelled by my post, then there is still hope for Malaysia. But if you see it as another guy's rant, then hey, welcome to the club. I'm the president and you are the new member.
I'm just a realist.
So the choice yours. Will you be sleeping on that day? Or will you be celebrating this tirade called Merdeka? Are you offended by this? Or, just like me, you just don't care?
Whatever it is, whatcha gonna do about it?
Happy Merdeka guys. And be careful at the rally. You can rest the next day because you fought for Malaysia. That's a much better reason to celebrate anyways.


Comments