A life less ordinary

When I woke up from bed today all I could think of is my contract which ends this month. And I’m still waiting for an evaluation for my performance which I should be scared shitless about it but I’m actually anticipating it! However, I still have to admit somewhere within my medulla oblongata that there’s a tingling sensation of fear. And why shouldn’t I be? For the last 6 months the only work that I ever produced was for McDonalds and only McDonalds while the other remaining months was getting rejected all the ads I conceptualize, going to the toilet more than 6-7 times a day, chatting on msn, taking an informal leave, daydreaming and spending loads of time blogging profusely. And still getting paid in the process!

Leo Burnett would have to be out of his mind hiring me in the first place! Even the janitor does more job than me!

Nevertheless I love working here and I can’t think of any other place that is suitable for me to work in. Mayb because of my allegiance to Yasmin Ahamd or maybe waking up everyday is like the best thing for me now compared to waking up for college - which I truly dread. Besides that, I have to confess I’ve grown a lot from working in this place from different kinds of people in the office whether it's from a secretary to the big cheese itself. All of them taught me an invaluable lesson that can’t compare to my days in college.

There are also times that I consider working here with even the most lowest pay or no pay at all because I know deep down within me that I will blossom even faster if I was given the chance to work here for a longer period.

It’s rare that people get to do what they love the most. An engineering student ends up working in a bank, having a degree in graphic design but ends up working as an interior decorator and working in a paper company as an accountant with a double degree in business and law. I’m not saying that it is a bad thing but I personally believe that if you love in what you do, then you stay the course at no matter what the cost and pain you have to go thru because in the end, there’s a deep satisfaction that only you can understand and eventually will inspire people around you to do the same thing. There are times when you feel that the thing you love to do the most are filled with people that are better than you but that is the challenge, and that is a road worth taking rather than being comfy doing the things that you don’t like to do.

Anyways my apologies for the tiny digress. I don’t know what to expect in Leo Burnett and I don’t know whether I’m going to get hired or not but if given the chance again as a trainee or a junior writer or a full-fledged copywriter, I woudn't think twice to jump at it.

P.s

Hope the readers are kind enough to give some feedback on how my writing is. Don’t worry I won’t hold it against you if you think my blog is crap. I rather taste the cake than the sweet coating whipped cream with cherries on top. Thanks

Comments

cheechiaw said…
Hey friend, your writing is not bad at all if compare to the rest of most of us. Wish u good luck and hope u get to stay in Leo Burnett for as long as u wish. Not everyone got the chance like u...
Hamdi said…
rae rae. positive thoughts bruh. keep at it and u'll do fine. and the notion of your writing is flawless. barring minor grammar mistakes. MINOR! hehe. "i gotta confess" haha just had to crack up on that bit!